Cold Dream Colour - sign of what's to come?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hollow Island

New Yorker
I can't believe that there isn't a thread for this wonderful piece of work yet. I just heard it today for the first time (well, six songs) and it's incredible. I'm new to it, but I haven't had such a positive initial reaction to anything they've done since Pop. It's more or less ambient, and similar to Captive (though much, much better) and parts of OST 1 and has some of Edge's most effective use of his style. I'm not sure if he just dropped some chimes over Paul Chavez's material, but either way it's an outstanding collaboration.

U2 are supposedly chasing the perfect pop song (didn't they already do that with ATYCLB?), but I wonder if Cold Dream Colour represents Edge's headspace at all, and if it will have any effect on the new album. Who knows what Bono means by "pop song" anyway. For all we know he's been listening to Neu! 2 and thinks it's a pop masterpiece.

For anyone who hasn't hear this here's a clue:
cold dream colour u2start google

Hopefully it will get a commercial release because it is great. My favourite album of the year.

Just found a link for the performance:
http://vimeo.com/37590095

Depending on your appreciation for modern dance you might want to listen to the music separately, but it seems pretty good.

As someone who really likes Passengers, I wouldn't mind if they went in that general direction again. Combine Passengers with Danger Mouse... :hmm: :drool:

Pop songs with post rock soundscapes. A case could be made that that's U2's genre...

Wait..Cold Dream Colour is your favorite album of the year?? :huh:

Sorry, there's almost nothing about this that I want to hear on the new U2 album. I want songs, not ambience. Maybe you're thinking of the next Eno album, or something.