I "found" a new book

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vlasak

Acrobat
My 13 year old daughter (bless her heart) checked out a book at her school library yesterday for me. It is titled: U2, A biography by Winston Brandt. It was published in 1986. It is so neat, I'm reading things I didn't even know about U2!! Has anyone seen this book? Their pictures are on the cover, it's a small hard-back book. They are young.

I looked for it on the web and it keeps telling me it is out of print, SO, I'm going to have my daughter LIE and say she lost the book and then I will pay the library for it! (Is this incredibly bad?)

As a former librarian, I can tell you how disheartening it is to have irreplaceable books like this go "missing". Equally bad were those books that were returned with one or two chapters torn out, because some jerk was too lazy or cheap to either read it and make notes, or photo copy it. And don't get me started on highlighters!!:mad:

Edited to add: Martha, I hope your shoes are at least cute, and therefore (almost) worth the pain.

Last edited:
Now Martha, you have given my heart an ache - and I mean that seriously. I feel bad that I was going to "steal" a book from the library, Of course, I did not think of it that way because I was going to pay whatever they asked for it. Now, I will make sure my daughter returns it BEFORE it's due and others in the 7th grade will get the chance to read about the number one band of all time. -Geez-:(

What a great lesson. If you see something you want, and you can?t think of another way of getting it, have your child lie. :huh: