U2 needs to release some songs for Rock Band...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zoocoustic

War Child
First off, if you haven't played this game (or even it's lesser cousin, the Guitar Hero games) you need to. They are fun, extremely addictive, and you don't have to necessarily be musically inclined.

I am a part-time music teacher and cannot believe the number of students of mine who now know songs by several bands only because of the Rock Band video games. For example, one day while a student of mine was tuning, I started playing a Smashing Pumpkins song. Student asks me, "who is that". I told him and he sort of shrugged..."yeah, I don't really like them".

About two weeks later he comes to me and says "OMG, have you ever heard this song 'Cherub Rock' by the Smashing Pumpkins?!!? It's AWESOME!!! Can you teach it to me!??!" Of course, he only heard this song via Rock Band.

Love it or hate it, this game is familiarizing a HUGE audience to a lot of music they may have otherwise never given a chance. I will admit that there are several songs that I have grown to really enjoy due to this game.

That all said, U2 needs to seriously consider this. When bands like the Killers, R.E.M., the Rolling Stones, the Who, Elvis Costello, and so on, and so on are all licensing their music for this game, it is WELL past time for U2 to do so.

It would MASSIVELY increase their popularity and would be a smart time to do so, right before the release of another album.

I think that U2 would have done so by now if it was something they all believed would benefit them and bring profit. If it's not something all 5 of them completely believe in then it won't ever be done.

What about the rumours that guitar hero U2 was a possibilty? The article also mentioned guitar hero Areosmith and that actually panned out...hmmm?

Honestly, I don't want a guitar hero u2...